Today I Started Loving You Again

“Today I Started Loving You Again.” Remember when we danced in the kitchen on Keeler? There wasn’t much room to get fancy so we just hugged and shuffled. We always chose love songs or sad songs like “Don’t It Make My Brown Eyes Blue.” Many were Country and Western. The song we danced to today is a bar song by Merle Haggard. After you left me I started buying music to fill my ears during consciousness. Most of it was Country and  Western; Merle, Willy, Waylon, Johnny, anyone who could sing a sad song became my solace.

Today, I worked on the man-cave and played Merle Haggard’s Motorcycle Cowboy album.  When the last song came on I responded by dancing the two step around the basement. I could see you, and feel you in my arms. It has been so  long since I tried dancing that I felt pain in my hips. It didn’t matter, I kept going until the song finished.

I miss you, I love you, I will be with you again soon.

Leave a Reply

